- Home
- Configuration
- Authentication
- Basic authentication
Basic authentication#
Important
Mirantis strongly recommends against using local users for authentication. Such users should only be used for bootstrapping and development purposes.
By default, whenever you create a fresh cluster, an admin user is created,
with the username admin and a randomly generated password.
This password is printed out following the successful creation of the cluster.
Info
The password is printed following the successful creation of the
cluster. It is not stored anywhere on the cluster, and it is not possible to
retrieve it later. Thus, if the password is not saved in the install output
logs, use the mkectl reset-password command to set a new one, as described
in Reset Password.
An admin user can create users, change user passwords, and delete users from the MKE 4 system.
Create users#
-
Log in to the MKE 4 Dashboard as an administrator.
-
Navigate to Access Control --> Users to access the user page.
-
Click the Create User button at the far right to access the User Creation page.
-
Enter the pertinent information into the following fields:
- username
- password
- confirm password
Info
You can enter the name of the user into the name field, however this is optional and the input is not in use in MKE 4.
-
Optional. If the user you are creating is to be an admin, tick the admin checkbox.
Change a password#
Info
Administrator access to the MKE 4 Dashboard is required to change a user password. If the password is forgotten and no one can log in, reset the password from the command line, as described in Reset Password.
-
Log in to the MKE 4 Dashboard as an administrator.
-
Navigate to Access Control --> Users to access the user page.
-
Click the username for the user whose password you want to change. The page for that particular user will display.
-
Click Update password at the top right of the user page to access the update password page.
-
Enter the new password in to the new password field and confirm it in the confirm new password field.
-
Click Update in the bottom right corner of the page.
Delete users#
-
Log in to the MKE 4 Dashboard as an administrator.
-
Navigate to Access Control --> Users to access the user page.
-
Tick the checkbox to the left of the username for the user you want to delete. You can tick multiple boxes to delete multiple users at the same time.
-
Click the actions dropdown at the far top right of the page and select remove. A Delete confirmation dialog will display.
-
Click Delete to remove the user from the MKE 4 system.
Alternately, you can delete a user from their dedicated user page:
-
Click the username for the user you want to delete to access their dedicated user page.
-
Click Delete at the far top right of the page. A Delete confirmation dialog will display.
-
Click Delete to remove the user from the MKE 4 system.
Disable local users#
You can disable local users by adding the authentication.localUsers
parameter to the mke4.yaml configuration file and setting it to false:
authentication:
localUsers: false
As a result, the default admin user is not created and all services related to user management are shut down.
Important
If you choose to disable local users, be sure to configure one of the other authentication methods for MKE 4. For more information, refer to LDAP, OIDC, and SAML.